The 27th Annual WA Screen Awards 2015 nominees announced – It’s time to get excited

FTI announced the successful 2015 nominees for the 27th annual WA Screen Awards (WASAs) at an event held on Monday 8 June 2015 at Lot 20 Bar in the Perth Cultural Centre.

The WA Screen Awards (WASAs) is the premier celebration of West Australian screen culture, celebrating excellence and achievements in feature film, short film, web series, music videos, television production, documentary, games and interactive productions.

Joel Creasey will be hosting the 27th annual gala awards ceremony in the State Theatre Centre of WAin the stunning Heath Ledger Theatre as an opening event to the Revelation Perth International Film Festival on Monday 29 June 2015.

The 2015 red carpet event will feature VIP guests, delicious canapés and premium beverages. Over 500 film industry leaders, Western Australian screen practitioners, media, sponsors and industry partners will come together to celebrate the very best in West Australian screen production.

FTI received a grand total of 479 entries from 162 screen projects across 33 categories.

One of this year’s most-nominated projects is Beyond West-produced documentary Prison Songs directed by Kelrick Martin and produced by Harry Bardwell, which received 6 nominations. The film explores the lives of inmates in Darwin Prison in a unique and new light, in Australia’s first ever documentary musical.

ABC mini-series, The War That Changed Us, written and directed by Don Featherstone and produced by Andrew Ogilvie and comedic short film Top Knot Detective, directed by Aaron McCann andDominic Pearce and produced by Lauren Brunswick, also received 6 nominations respectively.

Short film OnO, produced by Georgina Isles, written and directed by Lauren Brunswick and starring Ben Sutton and short film Karroyul, written and directed by Kelrick Martin and produced by Jaclyn Hewer and Melissa Kelly, received 5 nominations each.

Some of the winners from last year's awards.

Some of the winners from last year’s awards.

Web series Greenfieldproduced by Daniel Tenni, starring best actor-nominated Ethan Tomas, Liam Graham and best-actress nominated Marthe Snorresdotter Rovik, received 4 nominations.

The nominees for the prestigious Young Filmmaker of the Year award for 2015 are Jess Black, Joe Henderson, Lauren Brunswick and Ruben Pracas.

“FTI would like to thank the 60 industry judges who had the unenviable task of determining which of the 800 entries were the most deserving of recognition. As always, many worthy projects missed out.  The competitive nature of this year’s WASAs is an indicator of an increasingly vibrant WA Screen Sector. FTI congratulates all the nominees and wish them the very best of luck for the Gala Awards Ceremony on 29 June,” said CEO of FTI, Paul Bodlovich.

We are proud to be associated with an event that once again celebrates the incredible talents of West Australian screen practitioners. It’s an exciting time in the industry and we look forward to following the careers of all the award nominees,” said CE of ScreenWest, Ian Booth.

Former WASA winners include some of Australia’s most prominent screen practitioners such as Nelson Woss (Red Dog), Elissa Down (The Black Balloon), Zak Hilditch (These Final Hours), Robert Connolly (The Turning), James Bogle (Lockie Leonard, The Circuit, Closed for Winter), Sue Taylor (The Tree, Last Train to Freo), Myles Pollard (Drift) as well as a who’s who of the next generation of household names including Lauren Elliott, Ben Young, Emilia Jolakoska, Antony Webb and seasoned professionals including Kim Lord, Lawrie Silvestrin, and Torstein Dyrting.

FTI enhances the vibrancy of the WA Screen Sector by providing skills and career development, facilitating professional networking opportunities, and production development and support. The WASAs connect audiences with WA screen content and WA screen practitioners with each other.

The 27th annual WASAs are proudly supported by major partners ScreenWest and Lotterywest and presented in conjunction with the Revelation Perth International Film Festival (2 – 12 July 2015).

The 2015 WASA People’s Choice Award screening details will be announced this week.

Tickets to the WASA Gala Awards Ceremony on 29 June 2015 are on sale now from

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s