St Kilda Film Festival nominations announced – See the complete list here

Australia’s longest-standing and publicly owned short film festival, the St Kilda Film Festival, has today announced this year’s award nominees who are in the running for more than $50,000 worth of cash and prizes across 18 categories.

As an ACADEMY AWARDS® qualifying event, the winners of this year’s Best Short Film and Best Documentary are eligible for consideration in the OSCARS® Short Film and OSCARS® Documentary Shorts Award categories.

The 2016 St Kilda Film Festival’s most prestigious title of Best Short Film will see one of four nominees take home a $10,000 cash prize courtesy of the City of Port Phillip. This year’s nominees for Best Short Film are Red Rover, Death in Bloom, Slingshot and The Orchestra. Nominees for Best Documentary are You Better Take Cover, Worry Me In The Daytime, Strudel Sisters and Éva.

Competition will also be fierce in the Best Director category, with some of Australia’s most promising directors listed as nominees including Brooke Goldfinch – Red Rover, Nathan Keene – Little Boy Blue, Dael Oates – Death in Bloom and Jacobie Gray – The Aquarium.

City of Port Phillip Mayor, Cr Bernadene Voss says the Council is excited by the diversity of the films, genres and submission locations of the 2016 program. “We had a great selection of films from across the country in this year’s Festival program.

The City of Port Phillip is proud to showcase the innovative and exciting work of Australia’s best filmmakers across different disciplines and looks forward to unveiling the 2016 St Kilda Film Festival winners at the Closing Night Awards later in the week.” said Cr Voss.

The St Kilda Film Festival’s Top 100 films are judged by a panel of industry professionals, with the 2016 judging panel made up of Paul Goldman, Annie Maver and Victoria Thaine.

Best Short Film
Red Rover
Death in Bloom
The Orchestra

Craft Award
Little Boy Blue
Red Rover

Best Director
Brooke Goldfinch, Red Rover
Nathan Keene, Little Boy Blue
Dael Oates, Death in Bloom
Jacobie Gray, The Aquarium

Best Achievement in Cinematography
Ellery Ryan, Crossroads
Tarun Hansen, Under the Sun
Sky Davies, Goodnight Sweetheart
Benjamin Rutkowsky, Red Rover
Burak Oguz Saguner, Driftwood Dustmites

Best Achievement in Screenplay
Dael Oates, Death in Bloom
Jacobie Gray, The Aquarium
Darlene Johnson, Bluey
Tracey Rigney, Man Real

Best Achievement in Sound Post Production
Tori Holleman, Scrap
Driftwood Dustmites
Niels Gabriels, Somniloquy
Justin Spasevski, Little Boy Blue

Best Original Score
Jamie Messenger, The Orchestra
Sarah Blasko, Oscar Wilde’s ‘The Nightingale and the Rose’ Darren Lim, Little Boy Blue
Chris Russell, Worry Me In The Daytime

Best Indigenous Film
Under Skin in Blood
Man Real
You Turn

Best Documentary
You Better Take Cover
Worry Me In The Daytime Strudel Sisters

Best Animation
Ernie Biscuit
The Orchestra
‘Je suis un Crayon’ (I am a Pencil) Grace Under Water

Best Achievement in Editing
Adam Wills, Death in Bloom
Anil Griffin, Foal
Elle March, Vacant
Darius Family, The Flower Girl

Best Achievement in Visual Effects
Evan Whiteside, Moth
Luca Calabrese, Little Boy Blue

Best Comedy
Death in Bloom
Nothing Better

Best Actor
Tasia Zalar, Bluey
Margaret Harvey, Under Skin in Blood
Robyn Nevin, Death in Bloom
Gillian Jones, Goodnight Sweetheart

Best Young Actor
Tess Haubrich, Foal
Isaac Natoli, The Trophy Thief
Nina Louise, Little Boy Blue
Sophie Rollason, The Aquarium

The 2016 winners will be announced at the St Kilda Film Festival’s Closing Night Awards on Saturday 28 May at the St Kilda Town Hall.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s